Jacob van Loon is a painter.

My name is Jacob van Loon. I am a 25 year-old visual Artist based in Chicago. I graduated from Northern Illinois University in 2011 with a BFA in Illustration. My freelance work is a hybrid of the formal background in Graphic Design and Fine Arts training attained prior to Northern. I am currently looking for a Design job which caters to that method. My paintings focus on an analytic synthesis of data, which started from studies on early national highways, and the Russian Avant Garde.

I get inspiration from a lot of places. Lately it’s been Andre Petterson, Nicola Samorì, El Lissitzky, Francis Bacon, Paul Harnden, Carol Christian Poell, Barry X Ball, Daniel Arsham, Ryoji Ikeda, Maurizio Cattelan, Sterling Hundley, Edward Kinsella, Tim Hecker, Library Tapes, a glass of cognac, proto punk, and small cute animals.

Leave a Reply

